Selected Bibliographies
- African studies companion. 4th rev. and expanded ed. -- Lochcarron : Hans Zell Publishing, 2006.
- Alpern, Stanley B. Guide to original sources for precolonial western Africa : an updated and expanded supplement to Fage (1994). ([Madison] : African Studies Program, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2006).
- "Children in Africa" Web dossier (September 2008) (Leiden, The Netherlands: African Studies Centre and Leiden University Library, Documentation and Information Department, 2008).
See also: Ntarangwi (2014) below.
- Civil society--West Africa, Cameroon, Chad: Annotated bibliography = Société civile--Afrique de l'Ouest, Cameroun, Tchad: Bibliographie annotée (février 2006) (Dakar, Sénégal: CODICE--Centre de documentation et d'information du CODESRIA, 2006).
- Columbia University Libraries: Bibliographies and Resource Guides in African Studies on the Internet
- Electronic journal of Africana bibliography. (Iowa City, Iowa: University of Iowa Libraries, 1996-).
"EJAB is a refereed online journal of bibliographies on any aspect of Africa."
- Gerdes, Paulus and Ahmed Djebbar. Mathematics in African history and cultures : an annotated bibliography. 2nd ed. (Cape Town, South Africa : Lulu, 2007).
- GIGA--German Institute of Global and Area Studies: Online-Bibliographies dok-line: Africa (Hamburg, Germany)
Open access full-text bibliographies in English and German on various subjects relating to Africa.
- Hoorweg, Jan. Kenya Coast Bibliography (2019) -- Leiden, The Netherlands: African Studies Centre, Leiden University, 2016. --via Africabib.org
- Irele, Modupeola. The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS): a bibliography and sourcebook. (Lagos: Nigerian Institute of International Affairs, 1990).
- Islam in Africa (1974-2018). Compiled by Paul Schrijver and updated by ASCL Library. (Leiden, The Netherlands: Afrikastudiecentrum = African Studies Centre, University of Leiden, 2018).
- Kagan, Alfred and Atoma Batoma. Reference guide to Africa: a bibliography of sources. 3rd ed. (Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2014)
See also: E-book
- McIlwaine, John. Africa: a guide to reference material. 2nd rev. and expanded ed. (Lochcarron, Scotland : Hans Zell, 2007).
See also: 1st ed.
- Ntarangwi, Mwenda. Children and youth in Africa : annotated bibliography 2001-2011. (Dakar : Codesria, c2014).
See also: E-book
- Oxford Bibliographies. (Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press, 2010--)
Search "African Studies"
- Population et développement en Afrique de l'ouest: bibliographie annotée 1990-2001. 2 vols. ([Dakar, Senegal]: Union for African Population Studies, [2003]).
- The population of southern Africa: an annotated bibliography 1980-1997. 2 vols. ([Dakar, Senegal]: Union for African Population Studies, 1998).
- Schmidt, Nancy. Sub-Saharan African films and filmmakers, 1987-1992: an annotated bibliography. Supplement to 1988 edition. (London; New Jersey: Hans Zell, 1994).
See also: 1988 edition
- Siler, Michael J. Strategic security issues in Sub-Saharan Africa: a comprehensive annotated bibliography. (Westport, Conn.: Praeger, 2004).
- Stanley, Janet L. (comp.) Modern African art: a basic reading list. (Washington, DC: National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution Libraries, 2022).
- Studying Africa: a guide to the sources. 2nd ed. Edited by Marianne Andersson and Åsa Lund Moberg ; literature surveys by Tore Linné Eriksen. (Uppsala : Nordiska Afrikainstitutet, c2011).
- United Nations Library, Geneva: People of African Descent Research guides. (Geneva, Switzerland)
--See also: UN "International Decade for People of African Descent, 2015-2024" (UN Dept of Public Information, New York)
- Walsh, Gretchen. The media in Africa and Africa in the media: an annotated bibliography. (London ; New Providence N.J. : Hans Zell, 1996).
- The World Bank. Bibliography of publications: Africa Region, 1993-98. Ed. by P.C. Mohan. (Washington, DC : World Bank, 1999).
See also: 1990-1997 ; 1987-1995 -and- 1987-1996.
- World Bibliographical Series -- Countries. (Oxford, UK; Santa Barbara, CA: CLIO Press, 1979-1999).
Search CLIO--Catalog: select "Advanced Search", use keywords [name of country] and "world bibliographical" (as a phrase).
- Zell, Hans M. Publishing, books & reading in Sub-Saharan Africa: a critical bibliography. 3rd ed. (London : Hans Zell, 2008).