Art History: Resources for Research: 8-Dissertations
Library
Librarian
8-Dissertations
Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.
Columbia University
Columbia U. Art History and Archaeology and GSAPP Dissertations and Theses.
Stored offsite and paged through the Classics (rare books) section of Avery Library. They are found in CLIO by author or title (no subject access). If you don't know the author or title, you can keyword search using the terms "Columbia AND Thesis AND Art History" to retrieve a complete list. There is at least a 2 year gap between the time they are turned in as completed and the time they are released to the library. Dissertations less than two years old may be available in dissertation office. Call to inquire: 854-2854. Abstracts (from 1980-1996) and full text (1990 to date) of our dissertations can be found within Proquest Dissertations & Theses Global.
General (All Disciplines)
Jahresverzeichnis der Deutschen Hochschulschriften. (Online:1890-1900, 1904-1909, limited view: 1940-1942)
Butler Offsite R016.37843 J19 (1937-1970)
Index to German dissertations. Arranged by institution.
Proquest Dissertations & Theses Global.
(indexed (1962-1979), abstracts (1980-1996), full text (1997 to date))
Butler Z 5053 .X47 1973 (Paper, 1861-1972 as Comprehensive Dissertation Index)
Provides subject, title, and author access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1637. It also includes some UK and Irish dissertations. Masters theses have been selectively indexed since 1962. Full text of dissertations published since 1997 (and some from earlier dates) are available. Otherwise, request UMI dissertations from the Inter-Library Loan, or you can acquire them directly from UMI at full price. To order from UMI, call 1-800-521-0600.
Fine Arts & Archaeology
Archaologischer Anzeiger. (1963 to date)
Avery AC D480105
End of each year it lists current dissertations in archaeology from Germany and Austria. Arranged by author, gives dissertation title, institution or university and date of completion.
Burt, Eugene. Ethnoart: Africa, Oceania, and the Americas; a Bibliography of Theses and Dissertations. (1988)
Avery-Fine Arts N5313 AB95
An example of a subject specific bibliography of dissertations.
Current Lists in Fine Arts (a sample)
CAA.Reviews/Dissertations. (Online)
(http://www.caareviews.org/dissertations)
PhD dissertation authors and titles in art history and visual studies from US and Canadian institutions are published each year in caa.reviews. Titles can be browsed by subject category or year. Titles are submitted once a year by each institution granting the PhD in art history and/or visual studies.