Architecture: Basic Resources for Research: Biographical Sources

Biographical Sources for Architects and Architectural Firms

American architects: a survey of award-winning contemporaries and their notable works. New York: Facts on File, 1989.
Entries for 400 architects.
Avery AA684 K86

Biographical dictionary of American Architects (Deceased) [also known as Withey]. Detroit, MI: Omnigraphics, 1994.
For architects active between 1740 and 1952.
Avery  AA736 W7711

American architects directory. 1st.ed. New York: R.R. Bowker Co., 1956.
Over 9,000 listings of living architects in the United States who are members of the American Institute of Architects (AIA), including birth date, education, AIA affiliation and built work.
Avery Reference AA50 Am35

American architects directory. 2nd. ed.New York: R.R. Bowker Co., 1962.
Over 15,400 listings of living architects in the United States who are members of the American Institure of Architects (AIA), including birth date, education, AIA affiliation and built work.
Avery Reference AA50 Am351

American architects directory. 3rd. ed. New York: R.R. Bowker Co., 1970
Over 23,000 listings of living architects in the United States who are members of the American Institure of Architects (AIA), including birth date, education, AIA affiliation and built work.
Avery AA50 Am3511 (copies available in multiple locations)

Biographical dictionary of American Architects (Deceased) [also known as Withey]. Detroit, MI: Omnigraphics, 1994.
For architects active between 1740 and 1952.
Avery  AA736 W7711

Biographical dictionary of British architects, 1600-1840. 3rd. ed. [also known as Colvin] New Haven: Yale University Press, 1995.
Some entries include a list of projects, both built and unexecuted.
Avery AA996 C7211

Contemporary architects. New York: St. James Press, 1994.
Information on major international architects. Includes chronological list of works and a bibliography.
Avery Offsite AA40 C761

Directory of British architects 1834-1914. London; New York: Continuum, 2001. 2 vol.
Information on 11,200 architects including education and training, professional qualifications, works, personal details, and a selected bibliography.
Avery AA996 D621

International dictionary of architects and architecture. Detroit: St. James Press, 1993. 2 vol.
Two volume set covers 523 architects and 467 buildings that have figured prominently in Western architectural history. Information on architects includes a chronology of major works and a bibliography. Illustrated with photographs and floor plans.
Avery Reference AA31 In8

Key modern architects : 50 short histories of modern architecture. London ; New York : Bloomsbury Visual Arts, 2018.
Introduction to the work of the most significant architects of the modern era. Fifty short chapters introduce fifty key architects, exploring their most influential buildings and developing a critique of each architect's work within a broader cultural and historical context. The selection represents the most influential architects working from 1890 to the present,
Avery-LC NA680 .H425 2018

Macmillan encyclopedia of architects. New York: Free Press, 1982. 4 vol.
Biographical information on international architects. Includes a chronology of works and a brief bibliography.
Avery Reference AA31 M223

Makers of 20th century modern architecture: a bio-critical sourcebook. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997.
Entries on international architects, firms and confederations. Includes extensive bibliographies.
Avery AA650 J62

Oxford Dictionary of Architecture. Oxford, United Kingdom: Oxford University Press, 2015.
Covers all periods of western architectural history including biographies of architects and others who have made significant contributions to the field of architecture.
Avery-LC NA31 .C86 2015g
digital copy

Who's who in architecture: from 1400 to present. New York: Holt, Rinehart and Winston, 1977.
500 major architects from Europe, the Americas, Israel, the British Commonwealth and Japan.
Avery Reference AA40 W62 (copies available in multiple locations)