History of West Africa (HIST UN2772): Full Text Journals, Databases, Dissertations, & Archives

Full Text Journals

  • Selected Journals & Journal Archives in African Studies at Columbia
    (via "Basic Guide to Research on Africa" at Columbia)

    • Full Text Databases -- Historical Documents

  • African Bluebooks, 1821-1953. British Online Archives. (Selections from the British Foreign & Commonwealth Office)

  • Annual Departmental Reports Relating to Nigeria and the British Cameroons, 1887-1962. British Online Archives. (Selections from the British Foreign & Commonwealth Office)

  • The British Library, Endangered Archives Programme---Africa Projects. (London, UK)
    Completed Digitization or In-Progress

  • Confidential Print, Africa 1834-1966 (Selected CO & FO records in UK National Archives)
     
  • eHRAF World Cultures: ethnographic collections (e-books)
     
  • Emory University: Slave Voyages--The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database (Atlanta, Georgia)

  • Gallica--Voyages en Afrique (Selections from Bibliothèque nationale de France)
     
  • Nineteenth Century Collections--Europe & Africa (Selections from UK National Archives)

  • RAI--Royal Anthropological Institute Archive. Wiley Digital Archives. (Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2018-)

  • Royal Geographical Society. Wiley Digital Archives. (Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2020-)

  • Slavery and anti-slavery: a transnational archive (Farmington Hills, Michigan: Gale, Cengage Learning, 2009-)

  • University of Virginia and Virginia Humanities: Slavery Images: A Visual Record of the African Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Early African Diaspora. (Charlottesville, Virginia)

  • University of Wisconsin: On-Line Data Archive--Slave Movement During the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Centuries (Madison, Wisconsin)

    • Dissertations

  • African Theses and Dissertations -- on the Internet (Karen Fung, Africa South of the Sahara--Selected Internet Resources, Stanford University Libraries, Stanford, California)
     
  • The Center for Research Libraries: Dissertations Catalog (Chicago, Illinois)
     
  • Curto, José C. and Raymond R. Gervais. Bibliography of Canadian master's theses and doctoral dissertations on Africa, 1905-1993. (Montréal: Canadian Association of African Studies, 1994)
     
  • Cyberthèses: publication et diffusion en ligne des thèses (Lyons, France ; Montréal, Canada)
     
  • Proquest Digital Dissertations. (Ann Arbor, MI: ProQuest University Microfilms International, 1980-)
     
  • Lauer, Joseph J. et al., comps. American and Canadian doctoral dissertations and masters' theses on Africa, 1974-1987. (Atlanta: Crossroads Press and Emory University for the African Studies Association, 1989)
     
  • Lauer, Joseph J. et al., comps. "Recent Doctoral Dissertations." In ASA news: for African Studies Association members. (Atlanta: African Studies Association, 1981-2006)
     
  • Mémoire Online Memoireonline.com (France)
    Masters' thesis repository
     
  • Price, Helen C. et al., comps. Theses on Africa, 1976-1988: accepted at the universities of the United Kingdom and Ireland. Published for the Standing Conference on Library Materials on Africa. (London; New York: Hans Zell, 1993)
     
  • Sims, Michael and Alfred Kagan. American and Canadian doctoral dissertations and master's theses on Africa, 1886-1974. (Waltham, Mass.: African Studies Association, 1976)
     
  • Catalogue SUDOC: Rechercher par "Note de thèse" (ABES--Agence bibliographique de l'enseignement supérieur, Montpellier, France)
     
  • Thèses.fr de 1985 au présent (ABES--Agence bibliographique de l'enseignement supérieur, Montpelier, France)
    • Last Updated: Nov 29, 2021 11:55 AM
    • URL: https://guides.library.columbia.edu/HIST-UN2772-001
    • Print Page
    Columbia University Libraries
    535 West 114th St. New York, NY 10027
    Phone
    212-854-7309
    Contact Us
    lio@columbia.edu
    Follow Us