History of West Africa (HIST UN2772): Home

General Reference

  • Africa : an encyclopedia of culture and society. 3 vols. Edited by Toyin Falola and Daniel Jean-Jacques. (Santa Barbara, California : ABC-CLIO, an imprint of ABC-CLIO, LLC, 2016)
    --See also: E-book
  • Africa contemporary record. Annual. (London: Africana Publishing, 1968/69-2002)
  • Africa south of the Sahara. Annual. (London: Europa, 1971-) Print version
  • An African biographical dictionary. 2nd ed. Compiled by Norbert C. Brockman. (New York: Grey House Pub., c2006) (667 p.)
  • African folklore: an encyclopedia. Edited by Philip M. Peek and Kwesi Yankah. New York : Routledge, 2004. (593 p.)
    --See also: E-book
  • African kingdoms : an encyclopedia of empires and civilizations. Edited by Saheed Aderinto. Santa Barbara, California : ABC-CLIO, an imprint of ABC-CLIO, LLC, [2017] (363 p.)
  • Africana: the encyclopedia of the African and African-American experience. 5 vols. Edited by Kwame Anthony Appiah and Henry Louis Gates, Jr. Oxford, UK; New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.
  • Alpern, Stanley B. Guide to original sources for precolonial western Africa : an updated and expanded supplement to Fage (1994). [Madison] : African Studies Program, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2006.
  • Arabic literature of Africa. Edited by John O. Hunwick and R.S. O'Fahey. (Leiden; New York: E.J. Brill, 1994-)
    --See especially: Vol. 2- The writings of central Sudanic Africa. Compiled by John O. Hunwick with the assistance of Razaq Abubakre [et al.]
    Vol. 4- The writings of western Sudanic Africa. Compiled by John O. Hunwick
    Vol. 5- The writings of Mauritania and the western Sahara. Compiled by Charles C. Stewart.
    --See also: Volumes 1-4 online
  • Area Handbook series. Prepared by the Library of Congress and sponsored by the US Dept. of the Army. (Washington)
  • A companion to modern African art. Ed. by Gitti Salami and Monica Blackmun Visonà. (Chichester, West Sussex, UK ; Malden, MA : Wiley Blackwell, 2013)
    --See also: E-book
  • Dictionary of African biography. 6 vols. Emmanuel K. Akyeampong and Henry Louis Gates, Jr., editors in chief. (Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2012)
  • Encyclopedia of Africa. 2 vols. Edited by Kwame Anthony Appiah and Henry Louis Gates, Jr. (Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2010)
  • Encyclopedia of African history. 3 v. Ed. by Kevin Shillington. (New York : Fitzroy Dearborn, 2005)
  • Encyclopedia of Islam. -- Leiden, The Netherlands: E. J. Brill, 2004- Requires a special font.
  • Encyclopedia of the Middle Passage. Edited by Toyin Falola and Amanda Warnock. (Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2007)
  • Falola, Toyin. Key events in African history : a reference guide. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2002.
    --See also: E-Book
  • Handbook of Political Science research on Sub-Saharan Africa: trends from the 1960s to the 1990s. (New York: Greenwood Press, 1992)
  • Historical Dictionary series. Scarecrow Press (Metuchen, NJ ; Lanham, MD)
    ---For a dictionary of one country, search in CLIO, with "All fields" in "Advanced Search", and use [current name of country] and "historical dictionary".
  • Irele, Modupeola. The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS): a bibliography and sourcebook. (Lagos: Nigerian Institute of International Affairs, 1990)
  • Islam in Africa (1974-2018). Compiled by Paul Schrijver and updated by ASCL Library. (Leiden, The Netherlands: Afrikastudiecentrum = African Studies Centre, University of Leiden, 2018) --via AfricaBib.Org
  • New encyclopedia of Africa, 5 v. Editor in chief, John Middleton; editor, Joseph C. Miller. Detroit: Thomson/Gale, c2008.
  • Oxford Bibliographies Online (Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press)
  • The Oxford encyclopedia of African historiography : methods and sources. Thomas Spear, editor in chief. (New York : Oxford University Press, 2019)
    --See also: E-book
  • The Oxford encyclopedia of African thought. Editors in chief, F. Abiola Irele and Biodun Jeyifo. 2 vols. New York : Oxford University Press, 2010.
  • The Oxford handbook of modern African history. Edited by John Parker and Richard Reid. New York : Oxford University Press, 2013.
    --See also: E-Book
  • Oxford research encyclopedias--African history (Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press)
    Scholarly essays, with extensive bibliographic references, on a wide variety of topics in the field.
  • Rake, Alan. African leaders: guiding the new millennium. (Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2001)
  • West Africa over 75 years: selections from the raw material of history. Kole Omotoso et al., researchers; Kaye Whiteman, editor. (London: West Africa, 1993)
  • World Bibliographical Series. Published by Clio Press in Oxford, England and Santa Barbara, CA: 1979-1999.
    ---For a country bibliography, search in CLIO and use [name of country] and "world bibliographical".
  • World biographical information system--African Biographical Archive [Online [Munich] : K. G. Saur, 2004-2010.
  • Yakan, Mohamad Z. Almanac of African peoples & nations. (New Brunswick, NJ : Transaction, c1999)

    • Library Catalogs

  • CLIO
    (All CU libraries EXCEPT Law Library & Teachers College)

  • Pegasus (Law Library)
  • Educat (Teachers College)
  • More Catalogs
  • WorldCat

    • Indexes: Finding Articles, Book Chapters, Book Citations

  • Africa-Wide Information  via EBSCO (Baltimore, Maryland: National Information Services Corporation, 1997--

  • African Women Bibliographic Database (AfricaBib.Org, Davis Bullwinkle, University of Arkansas, Little Rock)

  • AnthropologyPlus. (Dublin, Ohio: OCLC).

  • Historical Abstracts. Monthly. (Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1982--)

  • MLA Bibliography. 10 times per year. (New York : Modern Language Association of America, 1963-)

  • PAIS International. Monthly. (New York: Public Access Information Service, 1972-)

    • Citation Management

    African Studies Librarian

    Contact: Yuusuf S. Caruso, Ph.D.
    E-mail: caruso@columbia.edu
    Phone: 212-854-8045
    Office: Global Studies, 309 Lehman Library, 420 West 118th Street, New York, NY 10027

    Atlases and Maps

  • Agence française de développement. Atlas of Africa: new perspectives on the continent. E-book. [S.l.] : Routledge, 2021.
    --See also: French version in print

  • Betz, Richard L. The mapping of Africa: a cartobibliography of printed maps of the African continent to 1700. ([Utrecht], The Netherlands: Hes & de Graaf Publishers, c2007),

  • Columbia University. Lehman Social Sciences Library Map Room, 2nd Floor,
    See especially recent maps:
    Burkina Faso, Côte d'Ivoire, Ghana, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal

  • Freeman-Grenville, G.S.P. The new atlas of African history. (New York: Simon & Schuster, 1991).

  • Griffiths, I.L. An atlas of African affairs. 2nd ed. (New York: Routledge, 1994)
    See also: Lehman Reference copy.

  • Historical atlas of Africa. Ed. by J.F. Ade Ajayi et al. (New York: Cambridge University Press, 1985).
    See also: Butler Reference copy

  • Kwamena-Poh, Michael et al. African history in maps. (London; New York: Longman, 1982).

  • Landscapes of West Africa : a window on a changing world. (Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso : Comité Permanent Inter-états de Lutte contre la Sécheresse dans le Sahel (CLISS), [2016])

  • Mapping Specialists, Inc. Africa on file.
    2 vols. (New York: Facts on File, 1995).

  • Maps and Power in Modern African History. (Columbia University Libraries)

  • Maps of Africa on the Internet. (Columbia University Libraries)

    • Last Updated: Nov 29, 2021 11:55 AM
    • URL: https://guides.library.columbia.edu/HIST-UN2772-001
    • Print Page
    Columbia University Libraries
    535 West 114th St. New York, NY 10027
    Phone
    212-854-7309
    Contact Us
    lio@columbia.edu
    Follow Us