General Reference
Africa : an encyclopedia of culture and society. 3 vols. Edited by Toyin Falola and Daniel Jean-Jacques. (Santa Barbara, California : ABC-CLIO, an imprint of ABC-CLIO, LLC, 2016)
See also: E-book
Africa contemporary record. Annual. (London: Africana Publishing, 1968/69-2002)
Africa south of the Sahara. Annual. (London: Europa, 1971-)
Africa today. 3rd ed. Know Africa series. (London: Africa Journal, Ltd. for Africa Books, 1996)
Africa who's who. 3rd ed. Know Africa series. (London: Africa Journal, Ltd. for Africa Books, 1996)
African biographical archive. 457 microfiches. Comp. by Victor Herrero Mediavilla. (Munchen: K.G. Saur Verlag, [1995-1999])
See also:
- African biographical index. 3v. Comp. by Victor Herrero Mediavilla. (Munchen: K.G. Saur, 1999) Index to: African biographical archive: entries include dates, descriptive keywords, & source references.
--or-- Search the online version of the index (Part of "World Biographical Information System")
An African biographical dictionary. 2nd ed. Compiled by Norbert C. Brockman. (New York: Grey House Pub., c2006) (667 p.)
African Biography on the Internet. (Compiled by Columbia University Libraries.)
African folklore: an encyclopedia. Edited by Philip M. Peek and Kwesi Yankah. New York : Routledge, 2004. (593 p.)
Africana: the encyclopedia of the African and African-American experience. 5 vols. Edited by Kwame Anthony Appiah and Henry Louis Gates, Jr. Oxford, UK; New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.
Area Handbook series. Prepared by the Library of Congress and sponsored by the US Dept. of the Army. (Washington)
Armes, Roy. Dictionary of African filmmakers. (Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, c2008)
Black leaders in southern African history. Ed. by Christopher Saunders. (London: Heinemann, 1979) [Pre-20th century leaders, except for one.]
Brockman, Norbert C. An African biographical dictionary. 2nd ed. (New York: Grey House, c2006)
A companion to modern African art. Ed. by Gitti Salami and Monica Blackmun Visonà. (Chichester, West Sussex, UK ; Malden, MA : Wiley Blackwell, 2013)
See also: E-book
Dictionary of African biography. 6 vols. Emmanuel K. Akyeampong and Henry Louis Gates, Jr., editors in chief. (Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2012)
Electronic journal of Africana bibliography. -- Iowa City, Iowa: University of Iowa Libraries, 1996-.
Encyclopedia of African history. 3 v. Ed. by Kevin Shillington. (New York : Fitzroy Dearborn, 2005)
Encyclopedia of Islam. -- Leiden, The Netherlands: E. J. Brill, 2004- Requires a special font.
Encyclopedia of the Middle Passage. Edited by Toyin Falola and Amanda Warnock. (Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2007)
Ethnologue. Country Index: Languages of Africa -- Dallas, Texas: SIL International, 1999-
Europa world plus. -- New York, NY : Routledge ; Taylor & Francis Group, 2007-
Select "Africa South of the Sahara" or "Middle East and North Africa"
Falola, Toyin. Key events in African history : a reference guide. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2002.
--See also: E-Book
The Garland encyclopedia of world music. -- Alexandria, Virginia: Alexander Street Press.
Handbook of Political Science research on Sub-Saharan Africa: trends from the 1960s to the 1990s. (New York: Greenwood Press, 1992)
Handbook of political science research on the Middle East and North Africa. Ed. by Bernard Reich. (Westport, CT : Greenwood Press, 1998)
Historical Dictionary series. Scarecrow Press (Metuchen, NJ ; Lanham, MD)
Most recent editions are in Lehman Library Reference, near "Global Studies". For a dictionary of one country, search in CLIO, with "All fields" in "Advanced Search", and use [current name of country] and "historical dictionary".
Irele, Modupeola. The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS): a bibliography and sourcebook. (Lagos: Nigerian Institute of International Affairs, 1990)
"Islam in Sub-Saharan Africa" web dossier (May 2005) -- Leiden, The Netherlands: African Studies Centre and Leiden University Library, Documentation and Information Department, 2005.
Kagan, Alfred and Yvette Scheven. Reference guide to Africa: a bibliography of sources. 2nd ed. (Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2005)
Makers of modern Africa. 3rd ed. Know Africa series; no. 1. (London: Africa Journal, Ltd. for Africa Books, 1996)
McIlwaine, John. Africa: a guide to reference material. 2nd rev. and expanded ed. (Lochcarron, Scotland : Hans Zell, 2007)
The Middle East and North Africa. Annual. (London: Europa, 1995-)
New dictionary of South African biography. Edited by E.J. Verwey. 2 vols. Pretoria: HSRC Publishers; Johannesburg: Thorold’s Africana Books [distributor], c1995-
New encyclopedia of Africa, 5 v. Editor in chief, John Middleton; editor, Joseph C. Miller. Detroit: Thomson/Gale, c2008.
Oxford African American Studies Center. New York: Oxford University Press, 2008-
Content includes: Africana (5 volumes); Encyclopedia of African American history; Black women in America--2nd edition; and, the African American national biography.
Oxford Bibliographies Online (Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press)
--Select "African Studies"
The Oxford encyclopedia of African thought. Editors in chief, F. Abiola Irele and Biodun Jeyifo. 2 vols. New York : Oxford University Press, 2010.
A political and economic dictionary of Africa. Compiled by David Seddon, with Daniel Seddon-Daines. (London: Routledge, 2005)
Political parties of Africa & the Middle East. Ed. by R. East and T. Joseph. (Harlow, England: Longman; Detroit, MI: Gale Research, distributor, 1993)
The population of southern Africa: an annotated bibliography 1980-1997. 2 vols. [Dakar, Senegal]: Union for African Population Studies, 1998.
Rake, Alan. African leaders: guiding the new millennium. (Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2001)
Rake, Alan. 100 great Africans. (Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1994)
Schmidt, Nancy. Sub-Saharan African films and filmmakers, 1987-1992: an annotated bibliography. (London; New Jersey: Hans Zell, 1994)
Schmidt, Nancy. Sub-Saharan African films and filmmakers: an annotated bibliography. (London: Hans Zell, 1988)
Schrijver, Paul. Islam in contemporary Sub-Saharan Africa. (Leiden, The Netherlands: Afrikastudiecentrum = African Studies Centre, University of Leiden, 2006) --via AfricaBib.Org
Stanley, Janet L. (comp.) Modern African art: a basic reading list. (Washington, DC: National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution Libraries, 2014)
Sweetman, David. Women leaders in African history. (London : Heinemann, 1984)
Ugowe, C.O.O. Eminent Nigerians of the twentieth century. (Lagos, Nigeria : Hugo Books ; Ibadan, Nigeria : Ebony Bookmakers, 2000)
Walsh, Gretchen. The media in Africa and Africa in the media: an annotated bibliography. (London ; New Providence N.J. : Hans Zell, 1996)
West Africa over 75 years: selections from the raw material of history. Kole Omotoso et al., researchers; Kaye Whiteman, editor. (London: West Africa, 1993)
Westley, David. The Mfecane: an annotated bibliography. (Madison: African Studies Program, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1999)
Who = who in African art. Compiled by Guy Van Rijn. (Antwerp, Belgium: Van Rijn Documentation Center, c1995)
Wiseman, John A. Political leaders in Black Africa: a biographical dictionary of the major politicians since independence. (Aldershot, England; Brookfield, VT: E. Elgar, 1991)
World Bibliographical Series. Published by Clio Press in Oxford, England and Santa Barbara, CA: 1979-1999.
For a country bibliography, search in CLIO and use [name of country] and "world bibliographical".
Yakan, Mohamad Z. Almanac of African peoples & nations. (New Brunswick, NJ : Transaction, c1999)
Index Databases
Africa bibliography. Annual. (Manchester, England ; Dover, N.H. : Manchester University Press, 1984-)
Africa-Wide Information via EBSCO (Baltimore, Maryland: National Information Services Corporation, 1997--
African Studies Abstracts (ASA) Online. (The Netherlands: African Studies Centre, Leiden University)
African Women Bibliographic Database (AfricaBib.Org, Davis Bullwinkle, University of Arkansas, Little Rock)
AnthropologyPlus. (Dublin, Ohio: OCLC).
Current bibliography on African affairs. Quarterly. (Amityville, NY: Baywood, 1962-)
Francis: International Humanities and Social Studies Online Index. Monthly. -- Paris : CNRS ; USA : RLG Eureka, 1984-.
Historical Abstracts. Monthly. (Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1982--)
International African bibliography, 2001 to present. Quarterly. Published for the International African Institute, School of Oriental & African Studies, University of London. (London: Mansell, 1971-)
See also print edition, 1971-2008: Z3501 .I54
MLA Bibliography. 10 times per year. (New York : Modern Language Association of America, 1963-)
PAIS International. Monthly. (New York: Public Access Information Service, 1972-)
WEB-BALL: Web Bibliography of African Languages and Linguistics par J.F. Maho et alli. (Villejuif, France)
World Health Organization Library: African Index Medicus
See also:
- African index medicus. Quarterly. (Brazzaville, Republic of the Congo: Library & Documentation Centre, WHO Regional Office for Africa, 1993-95) -- Check HEALTH SCIENCES Reference.
WHOLIS -- World Health Organization Library Database (Geneva, Switzerland)
CU Library Home Pages & Other Resources
African Studies Librarian