Food Sustainability Research Guide: Tools & Software

Resources for Food Sustainability

Software in the Digital Science Center

The Digital Science Center provides a wide range of software to support research and coursework in several science and engineering disciplines.  All of the software below is available for use on the computers located in the Science & Engineering Library, and some is also available for download and use on personal computers.

Tools & Widgets

googlescholar

Google Scholar retrieves references to books, abstracts, and e-journal articles from selected university and scholarly repositories. Columbia's Google Scholar link above also provides direct links to the full-text article for materials in our holdings. Remember to adjust your settings and add a link to Columbia University e-link: Settings > Library Links > Columbia University > Save
 

googlebooks

Google Book Search searches the full text of books that Google scans and stores in its digital database. It provides online access to full text of public domain and out-of-copyright books, reproduced either from text provided by publishers or by the libraries.
 

LibX Logo Guide to Installing Columbia University LibX Firefox Plugin
Use the LibX toolbar to conveniently search Columbia Library catalogs, electronic books, journals and selected databases. You can also follow embedded visual cues from Google Scholar, Amazon, Wikipedia and The New York Times Book Review.


Other Library plugins and widgets:

Proxy Bookmarklet
If you often do your research from off-campus, we recommend you install the proxy bookmarklet on your browser's bookmarks toolbar. The bookmarklet lets you log into the proxy without having to browse from the Columbia University Libraries website.

Libraries Search Plugins
Add our search plugins to Firefox or Internet Explorer to quickly search our website, the Columbia University Directory, CLIO, Google Scholar, and more.

Information about Mobile Resources at Columbia University Libraries
The Mobile Resources page offers a select list of resources for which mobile versions exist.  These resources are mobile browser optimized unless specified by the iPhone or android app icon.

Britannica Widgets
From Encyclopedia Britannica Webshare, these widgets, which allow you to quickly and easily explore a variety of topics, are pre-created and ready to embed into websites.

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Browser Lookup Tools
When you add the OED to your browser using one of the OED Online Lookup Tools, you can highlight a word on any web page, click on the Search OED Online button on your browser toolbar, and the OED Online Find Word search will display the results in your browser window. (Note: JavaScript must be enabled)